• Home
  • -
  • News & Events

Mayank Chakraborty wins second position in National Under 9 Chess Championship 2018 at Ranchi!

Master Mayank Chakraborty of Assam brought laurel to the state by becoming the first runner up in the 32nd National Under 9 chess championship 2018 today and sealed his berth in the Indian team that will participate in the Asian Under 10 and world Under 10 Chess Championship 2019 next year.

Mayank, a class 4 student of South Point School, Barsapara, Guwahati scored 9 points out of possible 11 and only lost to the champion A R Illamparthi of Tamil Nadu in the 9th round and thus secured the 2nd position in this 11 round swiss league event organized by All India Chess Federation and Hosted by Jharkhand Chess Association at Ranchi from 15th to 23rd September 2018.

Another Guwahati boy Master Mrinmoy Rajkhowa, a class 3 student of Sudershan Public School who had secured the third position in the National Under 7 Chess Championship 2017 last year also put up a brilliant performance in this tournament and managed to secure the 17th position in the championship. On the other hand Master Barnil Kumar Das of Barpeta also scored 7.5 points and missed a berth in the top 20 prize list and finished in the 22nd position in the final merit list. Altogether 274 players from across the country participated in the Open category while 151 girls participated in the Girls Category.

Sneha Halder of West Bengal was crowned Champion in the Girls Category.

Altogether 10 boys and 1 girl participated in this tournament from Assam.


Final Ranking after 11 Rounds  
Rk. Name Club/City Pts.
1 Ilamparthi A R Tamil Nadu 10,0
2 Mayank Chakraborty Assam 9,0
3 Bharadia Yash Rajasthan 9,0
4 Bhagat Kush Maharashtra 9,0
5 Kshatriya Nitin Vekhande Maharashtra 8,5
6 Sparsh Bisht Haryana 8,5
7 Raghu Ram Reddy Seelam Telengana 8,5
8 Abhyuday Santhosh Karnataka 8,0
9 Aakash G Tamil Nadu 8,0
10 Md Imran Andhra Pradesh 8,0
11 Daakshin Arun Tamil Nadu 8,0
12 Sadbhav Rautela Uttaranchal 8,0
13 Agarwal Mukund H Gujrat 8,0
14 Apoorv Kamble Karnataka 8,0
15 Vaibhav Kalpaka Karnataka 8,0
16 Daaevik Wadhawan Delhi 8,0
17 Mrinmoy Rajkhowa Assam 8,0
18 Priansh Das Odisha 7,5
19 Suhaas A Telengana 7,5
20 Panda Hrishikesh Odisha 7,5
Assam Chess Club congratulates Mayank and Mrinmoy and wishes them success in their future events.