• Home
  • -
  • News & Events

Tata Steel Chess India 2018 gets underway at Kolkata today

 The Tata Steel Chess India 2018, organised by  Tata Steel under the aegis of All India Chess Federation and West Bengal Chess Association got underway at the Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR) Kolkata here today.


The tournament which is the biggest ever chess tournament hosted in India in recent times has a formidable line up of the world's top players: Shakriyar Mamadeyarov, Levon Aronian, Wesley So, Hikaru Nakamura (all ranked world no. 2 earlier) and Sergey Karjakin (former world no. 4) will clash the swords with the Indian super talents five times world champion Vishwanathan Anand, India no. two P. Harikrishna, the third best Indian player Vidit Gujrathi and the local hero GM SS Ganguly. The final slot in the Blitz goes to the world's second youngest grandmaster (after Karjakin) thirteen year old R. Paraggnanandhaa and the tenth player in the Rapid section is the teenage sensation GM Nihal Sarin, just one year older than Paraggnanandhaa.


Five-time World Champion Viswanathan Anand faced USA’s Wesley So in the 1st round of the tournament which started from today will continue till 14th November and will comprise Rapid as well as Blitz competitions where the participants will play a single round-robin (all play all).


The total prize money in the two events is US$ 40,000 with first prizes of US$, 10,000 and US$ 7,500 in the Rapid and Blitz games, respectively.



Result of Round 1:(RAPID)

Pentala Harikrishna  drew with Surya Shekhar Ganguly ½-½
Shakhriyar Mamedyarov defeated Vidit Santosh Gujrathi 1-0
Hikaru Nakamura drew with Levon Aronian ½-½
Nihal Sarin drew with Sergey Karjakin ½-½
Viswanathan Anand - Wesley So ½-½


Result of Round 2:(RAPID)

Surya Shekhar Ganguly drew with Wesley So ½-½
Sergey Karjakin drew with Viswanathan Anand ½-½
Levon Aronian defeated Nihal Sarin 1-0
Vidit Santosh Gujrathi drew with Hikaru Nakamura ½-½
Pentala Harikrishna defeated Shakhriyar Mamedyarov 1-0